Refreshing Berry Yogurt Popsicle

OOOOO-kay, so it’s been a little while hasn’t it? I’d say about a month…give or take a few days. But I figured out what I was doing so wrong all this time!! It has nothing to do with the food, the food is amazing. Rather I believe I had unrealistic expectations of how many blog post I could do at a time, while also cooking the food. I was trying to do a post once a week, which was just too much for me 😑 (I’m such a drama queen). But I’ve decided to post recipes bi-weekly, instead. And I’m using the bi-weekly that means every two weeks, not the one that means twice a week, my goodness, that would be too much 😓. Well now that that’s all out of the way I’m sure you’re just dying to find out how to make today’s recipe! It’s okay, I know. The refreshing berry popsicleness is just too much to handle. Don’t worry I will let you know my super secret, complicated recipe because I’m just that nice of a person.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup frozen berries
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 cup frozen mango chunks
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 2-3 tbsp sugar

Directions:

I don’t want to discourage any of you, but I feel the need to warn you guys, this recipe is extremely complex and will force you to utilize every culinary skill you have honed over the years. You still there? Good, okay ready? Ready? Okay, now take everything (except the sugar) and carefully, put it in a blender. Got it? Okay, good. Now with the utmost care I need you to turn on the blender. WAIT!! I was just testing you to see if you were up to the task. You almost fell for it 😔 FIRST, put the blender’s lid on and THEN turn it on. Yes, that’s right, that’s the trickiest part. Phew, I’m glad the worst of it is over  😅. You’re a trooper, really you are.

Let the mixture blend for a minute or so, stopping if it isn’t properly mixing. If this happens then simply take a wooden spoon, with the blender OFF, and mix content upside down, so any chunks that haven’t blended get a chance. After a couple minutes you should be left with a wonderfully smooth mixture, at this point you make the decision to add sugar. If you want to keep it All-Natural feel free to omit the sugar, but if you, like me, hate the taste of nature (just kidding 😂) or just need a little sweetness in your life add about 2-3 tbsp sugar or as much as your heart desires. Remember to taste after thoroughly mixing it in. After it has reached its desired sweetness, it’s time for the real test of willpower!! You thought mixing it was hard, well that was nothing, NOTHING, compared to what is to come! Now, you have to pour it into a Popsicle mold while fighting every instinct that’s telling you to just eat it all right now. It’s a tough situation, but I believe in you and at the same time I wouldn’t be disappointed if you did just drink it as a smoothie. (Actually, this could be considered a smoothie recipe too…)

You know what, just follow your ❤, it will tell you to do the right thing. Anyways, so above you can see the popsicle mold I was using. It holds 8 small popsicles, so for this recipe I used 2 molds. Depending on how much you fill your cup measure-ers (is that a word?) with berries this recipe will yield about 14-16 small sized popsicles. I got 14 this time, but sometimes I get the full 16. Now, just some tips: When you’re filling the mold I would suggest using a spoon to scoop it in, because it doesn’t just easily pour out. Also while you are filling the molds, you’ll probably notice some pesky air bubbles (rude, I know) I would suggest using a skewer or in my case, I used a chopstick, to mix around the deliciousness until the air bubble disappeared. Here is an example of an annoying air bubble:

So yes, once all your molds are filled simply place it in the freezer for at least 4 hours or overnight for best results. The longer it is in the freezer, the more easily it will come out of its mold (that’s not to say you should keep it in the freezer for, like, forever tho). Lastly, when you’re ready to take the popsicle out of the mold, I suggest running the outside of the mold under warm water for a couple seconds then flipping the mold over, handle side down, and carefully twisting the popsicle free. Well, that’s how I did it at least…if you have some other mold then you’re out of luck cause I can’t help you…IMG_1532

 

This is me wishing my popsicles luck and sending them on their way. It was an emotional time in my life, but after 4 hours we were reunited, again, it was an emotional moment. Anywho they tasted great!! And I hope you can also make them and find out how good they were!

 

IMG_1501

Like, Share, and/or Comment below if you enjoyed the post, even a little or if you smiled, even a little or if you read this, even a little or if you like food, even a little (hehehe I’ve got everyone now!!)

2 thoughts on “Refreshing Berry Yogurt Popsicle

Leave a Reply

