Chicken Egg Rolls

For those of you who have been patiently awaiting my next post I apologize for being so terribly late šŸ˜© I would give an excuse but the reality is that I just do not have one this time…I was just being lazy, I’m sorry šŸ˜­!! I let you all down!!! I’m a failure, a fraud!! I don’t deserve anything from anyone!! Well, glad that’s out of the way, I apologize for the over dramatization, I felt it was necessary at the time. Anyways, let’s just forget all that and move on to the recipe. Yeah, that sounds like a good idea. So this weeks recipe is chicken egg rolls…or spring rolls, I’m not really sure. It’s quite the controversial topic, but after doing a boatload of research on the matter I decided to call the food pictured above an egg roll. (I hope I’m right). So yes, that is what I concluded. Now, onto the recipe. Oh wait, should I explain what an egg roll is? I feel like a lot of people know. (“But is “a lot” everyone, Sana?”) No, you’re right, disembodied voice in my head, I should tell everyone what it is! An egg roll is essentially a deep fried meat and vegetable stuffed roll with a crisp, light exterior. In my take on this classic American Chinese deep fried pastry I decided to take a more spiced approach. You know, like, it has more of that Pakistani spice to it. You’ll see šŸ˜

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb boneless skinless chicken breast
  • 1/2 to 1 bag coleslaw mix
  • Salt
  • Black pepper
  • Red chili powder
  • Cumin powder
  • Square egg roll/spring roll sheets

Directions:

First things first, you want to boil your chicken breast for 15-20 minutes until fully cooked through. Drain the chicken and transfer it to a fairly large bowl because you’re going to be adding vegetables as well. Next your going to want to shred the chicken into, well, shreds. Pretty straightforward stuff. It should be pretty shredded so that the vegetables can be well incorporated. So yeah, next it’s time to put in the coleslaw. This is totally up to you!! If you like more chicken then add less coleslaw, if you like a balance then add about the same amount as the chicken, and if you, like me, have to make like 150 egg rolls for a party and you need some filler go ahead and add the whole bag (and then some) (also you would need more chicken, this particular recipe probably yields about 30ish egg rolls, maybe more.) NOW, you want to THOROUGHLY mix the chicken and coleslaw together, until you have something like this:

 

You could keep it like this (if your lame, jk), but imma amp up these flavors with some delicious spices! Yeah, its going to be totally awesome. Now first of all you have to add salt, of course. With the amount I had above, you would need quite a bit, but with a 1/2 lb of chicken and the cabbage you would probably need a couple teaspoons. Just remember to always taste it!! Next you can add the black pepper, add about the same amount as the salt, but you can be a little more generous with it. Then you can add in the red chili powder. The addition of this all depends on how much you enjoy spice. If you’re not into that then add a little less, but if you do enjoy the spice then by all means dump in the whole container!! Just kidding, don’t do that, that would be horrible, unless your container was almost done and you had just the right amount of spice, well then be my guest. So for the cumin you should add a tablespoon or so. Again, its up to you. Start by adding a minimum of spices and then taste to see what it’s like and if it’s good its good, but if not you can always add more.

So yes, here is the final product! Now regardless of how your filling tastes, the real magic is in the wrapping! I speak the truth!! Well okay, its not magical, but its pretty darn impressive. Okay, I lied again…anyways just watch and learn šŸ˜Š Oh also, just want to add, along with the egg roll sheets you’re going to need a water and flour mixture to seal the egg rolls. It should be around equal part water and flour, with a little more flour (so it’s not actually equal…I’m sorry I keep lying to you). It should be a pretty wet and thick mixture, not at all dry. So yes, sorry about that sidetrack, here is the actual šŸŒŸ of the show!! My wonderful wrapping (Do not confuse this with “rapping” that is another post entirely, jk, I can’t actually rap, at all…like not even a little bit):

Voila! And like magic, you have yourself an egg roll! How glorious, how just absolutely marvelous!! I’m not even exaggerating this time, they are just amazing. Anywho, just roll yourself up a couple dozen more of these and you’re all set! Oh also, here are the sheets I was using, in case you wanted to know.

image

As you can see it says, “spring roll pastry” it is clearly mistaken, because I have done my research and I know! So yeah anyways, here were my finished egg rolls all nicely rolled up:IMG_1263

 

You’re most likely going to have a fraction of the egg rolls I have, unless you put, like, a piece of cabbage in each then maybe we’ll have the same amount…maybe. Moving right along, I myself did not fry these immediately, as I was making them ahead of time, but you are more than unwelcome to do that. Oh, you thought I was going to say “welcome”, yeah no, I’m not about that welcoming life! So, I decided to store mine in a plastic bag in the freezer and when I was ready to fry I just thawed them till the pastry sheets were soft again. When it comes time to fry, deep frying would be ideal because it quickly cooks all sides evenly, but I’m not fancy so I don’t have a deep fryer. Instead I used a lame old saucepan. I know, so lame *groan*. I actually bore myself because of how lame my saucepan is, ugh šŸ˜‘. Yeah, so, to cook them the lame way you want to heat up some oil on medium-high heat and then place in the egg roll *snore*. Once you see some browning on the edges you can flip the egg roll over and continue cooking. If the egg rolls ever start browning too quickly…like they’re blackening, as in they are burning, then take the pan of the heat immediately and let everything cool down. You can still use the oil just put the heat on low to start it off. So after they cook just put them on a paper-toweled plate to drain.

Once they’re all done you can serve with some ketchup, imlee ki chutney, or some other chutney. And yeah, enjoy!! (In case you’re wondering, yeah, I totally always serve my egg rolls like this. It’s a totally natural positioning, gosh! Bye.)

image

Like, Share, and/or Comment below if you enjoyed the post, even a little or if you smiled, even a little or if you read this, even a little or if you like food, even a little (hehehe I’ve got everyone now!!)

TLDR Version:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb boneless skinless chicken breast
  • 1/2 to 1 bag coleslaw mix
  • Salt
  • Black pepper
  • Red chili powder
  • Cumin powder
  • Square egg roll/spring roll sheets

Directions:

  1. Shred boiled chicken in large bowl
  2. Add coleslaw mix as desired
  3. Add salt, pepper, red chili powder, and cumin powder to taste
  4. Place small amount at one corner of square egg roll sheet
  5. Fold corner over the filling, then fold in the two sides next to it
  6. Roll in the filling and seal the end corner with flour, water mixture
  7. Deep or shallow fry until golden brown on all sides
  8. ENJOY!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Chicken Egg Rolls

Leave a Reply

